Work @ Home = Degrading People Skills?

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by Chaster, Feb 16, 2005.

1. Chaster

Original Member

You know, I just have to get this off my chest...

I've been working at home now for about 2 years. In that time, I've noticed a disturbing trend: my people/social skills are atrophying. This was illustrated all too glaringly this morning when I said some (in hindsight) off-color comments while talking to another parent at my daughter's daycare facility. :eek:

This is very upsetting to me (and very embarrassing too). I am not a "shut-in" by any means - I attend church activities regularly and get together with friends every few days. And previously, I would have described myself as quite gregarious. Yet, I find myself to be more and more "challenged" in social situations because I feel like my capability to carry on basic social "chatting" has become a shadow of its former self... :(

Anyone else out there experience this?...

2. Hamumu

Indie Author

Do you ever leave a room and say "BRB!"?

3. Ricardo C

Original Member

I've been a freelancer for ages, but just took a part time teaching gig to help fund my indie projects. The money's decent, and I only work four mornings a week teaching basic computing to grade schoolers. It's a dream job, really. But yes, I HAVE noticed how socially awkward I've become by spending so much time working on my own, and having social interaction with a limited number of people (fianceé, immediate family, close relatives, for the most part.) One thing I noticed right away is how shy I seemed on my first day, and how meek my voice sounded. I've been getting over it, but I definitely think working from home has rusted my people skills a bit.

4. mahlzeit

Original Member