Which services should I use?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by M2Gamer, Dec 20, 2016.

1. M2Gamer

M2Gamer New Member

Hello all!

I am new to this forum, and new to creating games over all, but decided it was time to get started on something that I really wish to accomplish.

My idea for the game is "simple". I want to do something along the lines of "Golden Sun" or even Pokemon for those who are more familiar, which means that I want that kind of Pseudo-3D map that a lot of those kind of games have, but with a separate screen for a battle or interaction.

I am fairly new to programming, but it is what I am studying in school. Java in fact. But I am looking to learn the more common one's for larger games and the like.

What I am looking for is which program or service that I could use to possibly get this started. My original thought was to use RPG Maker, but I don't know if there is a better one out there for what I am trying to accomplish.

Any and all feedback on ideas or anything would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you so much in advance, have a wonderful day and a wonderful holiday!

M2G

2. noahbwilson

Indie Author

I highly recommend starting from nothing. While I have not used any, I would imagine using templates or "game makers" is extremely restrictive and costly. Everyone will tell you the programming language they use is the right one... and they are probably right.

The best thing you can do right now is master a programming language / program that will let you build something from scratch. I personally use Animate/Flash, but kids today don't respect it. It is highly restrictive in 3D, so might not be what you want. A lot of people like Unity, of which I have never used.

3. M2Gamer

M2Gamer New Member

I actually have tired using Unity, with... less the desirable results. I tried doing to many things with skill I honestly do not have.