What languages / libraries do you use? + Hi

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by match1, Jun 4, 2006.

1. match1

Original Member

As you can see, this is my first post here...

I write software for a living; have been for a long time. I worked with many languages, from assembly to Java, and on many platforms, from embedded devices to powerful unix servers. But it's always the boring kind - and I'm not sure it's something I can bear to do for much longer, or at least that's what it feels like sometimes.

I've never actually written a game, other than simple simple stuff like a tetris or sokoban clones. But I'd like to try. I do understand how much work is involved; in fact I've downloaded quite a few games just to see what a finished product's supposed to look like (and for the most part, I'm impressed).

So... how do I get started, technically? My two favorite languages are Java and Python - is either enough for a polished, completed product? What languages do you use? What libraries? Yes, I know C++, but really don't care for it (I'm fine with C, though).

Any kind of feedback would be great - and I'll probably read anything you post a link to.

2. princec

Indie Author

Java works for me, and a few others, so if you're happy with it, stick with it.

Cas :)

3. Gilzu

Moderator Original Member

I think you'd be best at relying at any good game framework from popcap's to ptk, or even SDL.

Rather than messing with DX / OpenGL, you'd be able to concentrate more on hands-on-game-making instead of being stuck at building your own framework/engine.

Something i've noticed with people just starting out their first game, is that they get stuck on building their own "game engine"/"framework" and forget about the game itself.