Visual Novel Project

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by SabinX, May 5, 2008.

1. SabinX

SabinX New Member

Hi! My name is Cristian and Im about to finish my career as a programmer.
    Ive been learning game development for myself for 2 years, first with managed directX, and later with xna.

I wanna know how much can I earn by selling a videogame by internet, because I think that I could earn much money, because I think Its cheaper here in chile to pay a graphic artist, and its cheap living here.

So, in order to know how much I can earn, I wanna develop a Visual Novel game, because I think that it is a easy to develop videogame, and it would be fast, so Im thinking of paying a graphics artist and start to develop the videogame.

What do you think about it?

Do you think I can earn money selling a Visual Novel game by internet?

Or should I change the style of videogame?

2. Christian

Original Member

Check if there are any government programm for funding video game business first, you may have nice oportunities there.

There are visual novels for sale right now so, its a posibility, sure you can earn money with it, it all depends on how good your product is. Try to do a research on the types of visual novels around for sale so you can see whos your competition and the level of quality they manage.

Have you ever made that kind of game?, it may take longer that what you think, have you ever made a game?, i think you may have, but its allways better to make sure so you have the right knowledge of how to make a good game.

Good luck, i wish you all the best (yo tambien soy Chileno, pero vivo en Argentina :) ).

3. JoshuaSmyth

Original Member

If by visual novel you mean "casual adventure game" then I think there is a huge demand for such titles. Check out how well the adventure games are doing on BigFishGames - particularly the Nancy Drew series, but there are others not based on existing licenses.

4. defanual

Original Member