Thoughts on a Logo?

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by ConSolo, Nov 19, 2016.

1. ConSolo

ConSolo New Member

2. Rog

Rog New Member

Aaaactually the typeface on your website just saying "CONSOLO" is much better than this imo. Its much more elegant. This logo reminds me of a kids tv show logo.

[​IMG]

3. kevintrepanier

Original Member Indie Author

You overuse the knobs idea and it doesn't fit in very elegantly. If you want us to give an in-depth critic, you should first put more work into visual research and make several versions for us to look at. Then you'd probably point out yourself what works and what doesn't and then we can help more.

4. ConSolo

ConSolo New Member

Well I had to spend an hour learning Photoshop and another hour trying to make it, so most of the other comparative versions were literally of the "drawing board" variety. This has been both a prototypical venture as well as an exploratory foray into PS6. I have zero experience in visual art, and am mainly looking to save a buck.

So time, $, and experience have been factors in the process as well. There are plenty of tweaks to come.

5. Paul Murray

Paul Murray New Member

Just stick with you business name in a nice typeface like Rog pointed out. If you're not a designer, ultimately you'll be limited by your lack of skills, severely hindering what you can produce. This in turn will reflect on you and your business. A simple text logo is better than a crappy one that lacks polish and finesse.

A logo in most cases is unnecessary. For most businesses they're a waste of money, and if you're trying to do it yourself, chances are it's a waste of time.

Also, Photoshop isn't the correct tool to use to work up a logo anyway, it's raster software. You should use vector software like Illustrator, Affinity Designer or Inkscape so you can produce something that can scale up and down without pixelating.