Student Options?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by DizzyDoo, Aug 10, 2009.

1. DizzyDoo

DizzyDoo New Member

Hi there,

I'm a student, interested in just progressing from creating 2D games and playing with Python server stuff to experimenting with 3D game development.

The most obvious path to take is to purchase a 3D engine like Unity 3D, Torque 3D, or similar but the problem for me is being a student and having very little cash to throw around. It's not a case of 'go get a job', I'm working full time this summer flipping doughnuts on the beach to scrape enough money just so I can afford to go to Uni, study Computer Science and get a 'real' programming job.

I'm looking for cheaper, student options when it comes to getting the required software. I've already picked up an educational version of Photoshop CS2 and plan on doing the same for Maya soon.

So, what are a broke students options when it comes to grabbing a decent engine like Unity3D or similar? Any alternatives you'd suggest? Extra, perhaps free/open source engines/softwares I haven't come across?

Thanks,
    Matt

2. Mtg_kirin

Mtg_kirin New Member

buy unreal3 and use the unreal editor. thats cheap like 50 bucks

3. Ratboy

Original Member

4. ChrisP

Indie Author

For open source 3D engines, look at Ogre3D and Irrlicht. Or, learn OpenGL and use SDL+OpenGL to roll your own basic engine.

For just playing around and learning, I agree that getting into modding is a good idea. Only be aware that it does get rather a bit more expensive if you want to actually release anything you've done as anything but a free mod for Unreal 3 (or whichever game you end up choosing). :)

5. jb143

jb143 New Member

There's probally better options, but Genesis3D is still around as well. It's an old Half-Life-equivalent game engine but it has always been free to use and sell games you make with it. I made several demos with it back when it was new and learned quite a bit about 3D game programming.

6. DavidR91