Stentor Attack : new music based game

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by Hibou, Aug 15, 2008.

1. Hibou

Hibou New Member

Hi everybody,

I just released version 1.0 of my Stentor Attack game. It is an arcade-style game which build stages based on your mp3 collection. It is my first attempt at an arcade-style game so suggestions for gameplay improvements are really appreciated !

Some screenshots explaining how the game works...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

You can download the demo on my web site at : http://hibou.qc.ca

or directly here.

Feedback is welcome ! Thanks !

2. cliffski

Moderator Original Member

nice idea, but if I wiggle the mouse back and forth really fast, I always score 100%, regardless of the song :D

3. Hibou

Hibou New Member

Hey ! That's called cheating ! Seriously, do you have an idea on how I could fix this ?

4. cliffski

Moderator Original Member

what you need to do is ensure i'm not wiggling the mouse. So you need to keep track of the last few mouse x offsets. When you check to see if im under a missile, you check those offsets. If they are above a certain threshold, then you just ignore my position and let the bullet penetrate the shield.

No idea if that would work, but that's what I'd try.

5. AlexWeldon

AlexWeldon New Member

You could also give the shield a maximum velocity, and if the mouse's displacement from one frame to the next is greater than that, just move the shield that much instead. You'll have to reset the origin of the mouse's coordinate system every frame (otherwise the shield might keep moving after the user stops moving the mouse). E.g. something like:

function moveShield() {
    mouse_displacement = mouse_position - mouse_origin;
    if (Math.abs(mouse_displacement) <= MAX_VELOCITY) shield_position += mouse_displacement;
    else if (mouse_displacement > 0) shield_position += MAX_VELOCITY;
    else shield_position -= MAX_VELOCITY;
    mouse_origin = mouse_position;
    }