shmup-dev blocking IPs?

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by weguwe, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. weguwe

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does shmup-dev block certain IPs? There is a recent cache in google but the page itself has been unreachable forever. Blocking Austria? Or Europe?
     
  2. PoV

    PoV
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,132
    Likes Received:
    0
    It'd be odd if it did. Asuming it's the .com, it works fine from Canada.
     
  3. oNyx

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,212
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. weguwe

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    ===> The server at 207.210.208.103 is taking too long to respond.

    (Not only today or this week. 'been like that for quite some time.)

    :confused:
     
  5. Leper

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I just read this! Well, I contacted my host and they said that no ip ranges are blocked. The only thing that does any blocking is mod_security itself. They did say that the route might be screwed up somewhere, is there any chance I can retrieve your ip address so we can do a reverse route inspection?
     
  6. dxgame

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    1
    The site is always very slow for me. It hangs for a lllooonngg period of time before the bulk of the page is delivered. That's why I don't visit as often as I'd like to. :(
     
  7. weguwe

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure: 85.124.200.158

    ---

    Werner Weingraber
    http://www.taipangames.com
     
  8. Leper

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey, looks like shmup-dev is actually being blocked somewhere down the pipeline. It's filtered out, and the location (to me as of now) appears to be in Dallas, TX. Anyways, Dallas is blocking my site to go any further. Looks like this is going to be a little fun (sarcasm) as we get this all straightened out. I'll keep you posted :)

    EDIT: Well, looks like I need a bit more info, can you do a trace route to www.shmup-dev.com? Just go to dos and type "tracert www.shmup-dev.com" Then copy / paste me everything it gives you.

    In windows 2000, you need to go to START > RUN > then type "command"
    In windows XP, you can do START > RUN > "cmd" but I believe "command" works as well.

    Once I have your trace route, and my reverse trace route, we'll be able to narrow down who is blocking us and then go from there.
     
    #8 Leper, Nov 28, 2006
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2006
  9. weguwe

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here we go.

    Code:
    C:\>tracert www.shmup-dev.com
    
    Routenverfolgung zu www.shmup-dev.com [207.210.208.103]  über maximal 30 Abschnitte:
    
      1    20 ms    20 ms    20 ms  172.25.46.31
      2    21 ms    20 ms    21 ms  mur2-vl-00-006.marbkai.graz.inode.at [62.99.194.125]
      3    56 ms   241 ms   138 ms  vie2-vl-00-990.shuttle.vien.inode.at [62.99.170.65]
      4   123 ms    23 ms    24 ms  ott2-po-00-002.shuttle.vien.inode.at [62.99.170.254]
      5    23 ms    24 ms    23 ms  ge-2-0.ar1.VIE1.gblx.net [146.82.33.217]
      6    50 ms    51 ms    51 ms  so1-0-0-2488M.ar1.AMS1.gblx.net [67.17.65.242]
      7    48 ms    48 ms    47 ms  ge-6-17.car1.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [213.244.165.237]
      8    51 ms    51 ms    52 ms  ae-0-56.mp2.Amsterdam1.Level3.net [4.68.120.162]
      9   165 ms   164 ms   220 ms  as-0-0.bbr2.Dallas1.Level3.net [64.159.0.137]
     10   165 ms   166 ms   165 ms  ae-12-51.car2.Dallas1.Level3.net [4.68.122.14]
     11   166 ms   166 ms   165 ms  4.78.224.74
     12   166 ms   166 ms   166 ms  ge-1-1.core1.colo4dallas.net [206.123.64.26]
     13   168 ms   167 ms   166 ms  core1.hspheredns.com [72.249.0.10]
     14   167 ms   167 ms   168 ms  edge-0501.hspheredns.com [72.249.34.2]
     15   172 ms   169 ms   169 ms  hspheredns.com [207.210.208.103]
    
    Ablaufverfolgung beendet.
    
    C:\>ping www.shmup-dev.com
    
    Ping www.shmup-dev.com [207.210.208.103] mit 32 Bytes Daten:
    
    Antwort von 207.210.208.103: Bytes=32 Zeit=169ms TTL=43
    Antwort von 207.210.208.103: Bytes=32 Zeit=170ms TTL=43
    Antwort von 207.210.208.103: Bytes=32 Zeit=175ms TTL=43
    Antwort von 207.210.208.103: Bytes=32 Zeit=182ms TTL=43
    
    Ping-Statistik für 207.210.208.103:
        Pakete: Gesendet = 4, Empfangen = 4, Verloren = 0 (0% Verlust),
    Ca. Zeitangaben in Millisek.:
        Minimum = 169ms, Maximum = 182ms, Mittelwert = 174ms
    
    C:\>
    
     
  10. Leper

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    wow.. It looks to me that you went through that time, can you check if the site still appears down?
     
  11. weguwe

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well.. yes. A ping (ICMP) does go through. And ftp seems to work, too. But as Firefox says:

    The server at www.shmup-dev.com is taking too long to respond.

    Same thing with IE. Only AFAIK with shmup-dev. I tried opening the site every once in a while for a couple of weeks and it has always been unreachable. So I guess this has nothing to do with server-load or some (temporarily) slow connection. :confused:

    ---

    Werner Weingraber
    http://www.taipangames.com

    P.S.: www.mattmcfarland.com is also unreachable from here.
     
  12. Jason Chong

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I guess you can try to use a proxy server in the browser to access the site then.

    Try finding available public proxies.
     
  13. Leper

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, basically you are capable of sending packets to shmup-dev, but shmup-dev is being blocked somewhere from sending packets back to you. I'd try the proxy idea for now, as this will take me some time to sort this out.

    Thanks for your patience,
    Matt
     

Share This Page

  • About Indie Gamer

    When the original Dexterity Forums closed in 2004, Indie Gamer was born and a diverse community has grown out of a passion for creating great games. Here you will find over 10 years of in-depth discussion on game design, the business of game development, and marketing/sales. Indie Gamer also provides a friendly place to meet up with other Developers, Artists, Composers and Writers.
  • Buy us a beer!

    Indie Gamer is delicately held together by a single poor bastard who thankfully gets help from various community volunteers. If you frequent this site or have found value in something you've learned here, help keep the site running by donating a few dollars (for beer of course)!

    Sure, I'll Buy You a Beer