Revision Control for project: details?

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by tentons, Mar 1, 2004.

1. tentons

Indie Author

Just figured I'd say that I'm also using Subversion with Tortise. It's got more than a few features that CVS doesn't. And you can integrate it with Visual Studio 2003 with Ankh. :)

2. GBGames

Indie Author

** C & P from Dexterity **

GBGames 07-11-2004 12:12 AM

I'm just starting to get into my first commericial project. I have never used revision control before, and I am learning how to use subversion.

My question is: What do you usually keep in your repositories (whether you use CVS/BitKeeper/Arch/etc)?

I know source code and data files like audio, images, and scripts would go there, but do you also keep documentation? Design docs? Basically, is your entire project and its related files kept in revision control, or do you usually keep the design document outside of it in its own directory/server somewhere?

Thanks!

Jim Buck 07-11-2004 01:44 AM
    Source code, all docs related to the game, including contracts and design docs.. and also artwork.

ggambett 07-11-2004 02:04 AM
    We use CVS, although Subversion may be worth a try (it's essentially CVS compatible but with additional stuff such as rename, directory move, and so on)

We have everything there, including docs.

serg3d 07-11-2004 05:05 AM
    Using CVS, keep source, docs, and part of artwork. Thinking about moving to Subversion.

wazoo 07-11-2004 09:14 AM
    using cvsnt

You're probably getting the picture from the previous posts, but it's a grand idea to put EVERYTHING and anything project related into version control..

I'm currently running the cvsnt service piece on my server and have just about everything in there...project code, design docs, website, etc..

My only problem is that bugzilla seems incredibly unfriendly to the win32 platform..so for now I'm just tracking bugs/changes to the project with a spreadsheet...(also in cvs of course).