Research paper

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by TinyGiraffes, Feb 4, 2018.

1. TinyGiraffes

TinyGiraffes New Member

Hello, I'm an aspiring game designer and doing a research paper on being a game designer for high school. Part of doing this project is getting an interview from an active game designer. I was hoping someone could help me with this, If you're interested in helping me that would be great! I just need you to answer these 5 questions.

What experience might you need for this job?

What experience might you get from this job?

What are the Hours like for this Career?

Is there anything extra that you would recommend to learn in order to get better at this job or something to learn before going to college?

Is there anything you know now that you wish you knew when starting out?

If anyone could help that would be fantastic [​IMG]

2. TheTodd

TheTodd New Member

I can help with this.

1) Experience wise, you need to know what you're doing, especially for the Game Designer position. That's often why most jobs require a college degree in game development (which I have), as the school's course teaches you the more nuanced things that go on in Game Design.

2) You learn how to make a game from start to finish. Game Designers have very important roles throughout the process. Admittedly, they're more active in the beginning of the game than the end, but they work throughout in many development studios.

3) Depends on the studio you're in, and what part of the game's process you are in. It also depends if you help out in other fields of Game Design like programming or QA. Some people make a full-time living being a Designer, others don't.

4) College is honestly the best learning experience for this. However, you can study up on what it means to be a true Game Designer, start to learn the process you're getting into.