PTK vs raw DX7/OpenGL

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by 20thCenturyBoy, Nov 23, 2004.

1. 20thCenturyBoy

Original Member

I realise this question may be a bit "finger in the air" but anyway...

Say I wanted to develop a side scroller platformer in the style of the old Commander Keen. You know the sort of thing, simple colourful sprites, that can be rotated, stretched etc. Say 3 layers of parallax scrolling. Would a library such as PTK be useful for that sort of game, and how much time could I save by using PTK rather than doing it all from scatch in DX or OpenGL? Assume I have the artwork :)

I have a good knowledge of C++ and have written Windows games before (GDI based) but I have ZERO knowledge of DX or OpenGL. I have a copy of "Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus" that teaches basic DirectDraw using DX7 so I could use that to get up to speed. But I don't want to waste my time if existing libraries such as PTK can do the same job easier.

20thCB

2. Mark Fassett

Moderator Indie Author

I would say you could save many months. PTK is extremely easy to learn. PTK also handles sound and input, too. I'd bet you could be up and running with PTK in less than a week, where doing all that work yourself could take months.

3. Mike Boeh

Administrator Original Member

Doing it yourself in DX is more like doing it yourself in OpenGL...

If you would rather have DirectX instead of opengl, but want an easy engine, you might want to try HGE: http://hge.relishgames.com/ or Blitz Basic...

4. 20thCenturyBoy

Original Member

HGE does indeed look good. Apart from the obvious difference of using DX instead of OpenGL I wonder how it compares to PTK in terms of stability, support, ongoing development etc?

These engines certainly do seem to take a lot of the drudgery out of game creation. I think if I took the "learn DX first" track I will never complete a game. Especially as I can only spend a couple of hours a day on this.