Photoshop Elements

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by EpicBoy, Dec 15, 2004.

  1. EpicBoy

    EpicBoy
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    So after getting rave reviews from many people that I talked to about paint programs for the Mac, I purchased a copy of Photoshop Elements.

    Now, is it just me, or is there no way to edit the individual color channels? Specifically, alpha? If I can't edit the alpha channel, I don't see how it's a useful program for creating game graphics.

    Please tell me I'm just missing something obvious. :(
     
  2. Anthony Flack

    Anthony Flack
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is Photoshop Elements like Photoshop, but with half the features randomly hacked out?
     
  3. Reactor

    Reactor
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd be surprised if you couldn't. I'm a PhotoImpact user, so I don't know... but...

    Stupid question- Have you checked the manual?
     
  4. Anthony Flack

    Anthony Flack
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never used Elements either, but in Photoshop proper, you can edit them in the channels tab (found by default next to the layers tab - or if not, you might want to try window>show channels)
     
  5. Tom Cain

    Tom Cain
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, PhotoShop Elements does not allow manipulation of individual channels. That is a full PhotoShop feature.
     
  6. Reactor

    Reactor
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    In my experince, just because you can't edit an alpha directly doesn't mean the program is a wash-out for creating game graphics. In PhotoImpact, you just use the lowest (transparent) layer as the alpha channel and work around that. I've never had a problem, and I can't edit RGBA separately.
     
  7. Jonas

    Jonas
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep, even though elements is a nice program, they have strategicly left out some stuff like that.

    If you are gonna learn a paint program, Gimp is getting pretty good. Since I have Photoshop proper, Its hard for me to enjoy the GIMP, but it is makeing progress, and I'm sure you can edit each channel

    http://www.gimp.org/

    for mac: http://www.gimp.org/macintosh/

    It's free and opensource.
     
  8. Reactor

    Reactor
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Heh... I can't stand Gimp. Oh well, each to his own :)
     
  9. Jonas

    Jonas
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never said I LIKE gimp :) Infact I don't, I'm a Photoshop guy myself, just offering help :)

    For the money ($0) it's not so bad and it can deal with alpha channels. Sheeh!
     
    #9 Jonas, Dec 15, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2004
  10. EpicBoy

    EpicBoy
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thus, making it basically useless. F**k. Oh well... Guess I'll try and get a full version then.

    I don't even need individual channels, I really just need alpha. But I guess that's not going to happen. I wish they would, you know, SAY THAT on the damn product page.

    "BTW, if you were thinking of using this program for anything outside of removing red-eye from photos, think again!"


    And for the smart arses above, yes, I read the manual. I also searched the help files. I'm not THAT useless. :)
     
  11. EpicBoy

    EpicBoy
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what are people using for graphics on Mac then?

    GraphicConverter kind of sucks (IMO), and I hear that I should try GIMP.

    Any other suggestions of programs that don't cost $600?
     
  12. Reactor

    Reactor
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Uh, Epicboy... did you read the manual and discover what it *can* do with alphas? I don't have the ability to edit an alpha with PhotoImpact, but I just sort it out when I save the image. Or, I draw the alpha I want and then save the image with that as the alpha. It's as easy as can be. It may not be as amazing as Photoshop, but I find it hard to imagine a situation where that wouldn't give me what I want. More than likely PS Elements has something similar. Check it out before giving up on it altogether.
     
  13. Tom Cain

    Tom Cain
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can often find cheap, older PhotoShop versions on eBay that are legal and unregistered. I've found them still factory sealed before, which is what I prefer. Just make sure it isn't an academic version.

    Version 7 will run on Mac OS X. Version 6 will run on OS X in an OS 9 window, which still works but isn't as clean. I don't recommend PhotoShop below version 6.
     
  14. EpicBoy

    EpicBoy
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Tom! I'll take a look around. I guess I don't need the absolute latest version, that's true...
     
  15. Anthony Flack

    Anthony Flack
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Photoshop 6 is excellent. I don't see anything in PS7 that would really induce me to upgrade (and inevitably have some of my keyboard shortcuts messed with). EDIT: oops, the mac situation is possibly different, with that whole os-change business, ahh...

    But apart from that, I'm sure there are plenty of ways to get elements to do what you want. Dipping into the channels tab isn't something I find myself doing all that often. It does support layers, right? What is it you want to do with the alpha channel?
     
    #15 Anthony Flack, Dec 15, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2004
  16. EpicBoy

    EpicBoy
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Edit it.

    You can't see or edit the alpha channel in Elements.

    There are some interesting alternatives though that I've seen mentioned in a few places. Things like hiding the background layer and doing "save for web" produces a PNG with a proper alpha channel. I'll check them out tonight and see if some of those hacks would be good enough for now...
     
  17. Teeth

    Teeth
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally I've always found that the alpha channel stuff in PS is very difficult to get to grips with anyway. I've had trouble with having edited the alpha channel, and saving out the bitmap as some format or other, and it not appearing because when PS saves out the bitmap it just takes the transparent pixels as alpha instead. Stuff like that, I'm sure it's all fine and dandy if you know what you're doing and such-like, but I'll bet there are miles cheaper and easier packages out there than PS for doing things like this.
     
  18. Anthony Flack

    Anthony Flack
    Expand Collapse
    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, edit it, sure. But you don't have to seperate out the alpha channel to edit it.

    I mean (unless Elements is far more pared down than I would think possible), all the layers except the background layer have transparency. And the tools work on it. If you delete a selection, or use the eraser, or anything like that, you're editing the alpha channel.

    Just get rid of that background layer right off the bat - it's useless. Duplicate it and then delete the original (weird photoshop workaround). Now you can get at the alpha.

    All your pngs will be saved with alpha, if Elements isn't completely crap.
     
  19. EpicBoy

    EpicBoy
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to do gradients with the transparency stuff. I mean, I know masking would be easy enough, but I wonder how difficult working with shades of alpha will be.

    Guess I'll try it out tonight...
     
  20. Wayward

    Wayward
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Off Topic PhotoShop Tip

    Alternatively, double-click the Background swatch in the layers palette; that converts it into a proper layer.
     

Share This Page