Pearls of wisdom

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by princec, Jan 14, 2006.

1. princec

Indie Author

Here's one which I can't stress how amazingly useful it is enough for all you newbies still struggling to finish that first title:

Do the title screen and options and hiscores and menus etc first and completely finish them!!

Don't even think about making a start on the game until they're totally finished.

Cas :)

2. Ryan Clark

Indie Author

Ok, I'll bite! Why?

I've never done this before, so I'm honestly not sure what the advantage would be.

3. soniCron

Indie Author

I'll venture a guess on his behalf: By the time the game itself is ironed out, plays well, and just a total bunch of fun, you're certainly not going to want to be working on the menus. I'm having this exact problem right now; my motivation is extremely low since all that's left is maintenance.

4. princec

Indie Author

Spot on. I'm bored shitless of Titan Attacks now, thank Christ I've only got to put in a few more levels and sound effects and it's finished and I don't have to do all that crappy menu work. I can't think of anything more demotivating. Apart from, say, having to rewrite it in DirectX so I can get it on Xbox 360.

5. Ricardo Vladimiro

Indie Author

And if you are working with contracted artists?

6. princec

Indie Author

Then get the buggers to do it first!

7. Dan MacDonald

Moderator Original Member Indie Author