Obligatory intro post

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by lordGoldemort, May 26, 2016.

1. lordGoldemort

lordGoldemort New Member

Greetings

I used to be a professional game developer, worked with (in chronological order) Argonaut, Sega, Sony and Microsoft as well as being a part of a contractor team. Had 4 major software releases, including 1 PS1 title and a PS2 chart-topper. I also worked for 6 years writing machinima software, but then drifted away from games as (basically) I couldn't afford a house on a game dev salary and being made redundant every few years. Now my kids are old enough to appreciate games, I've got a PS4 and we've been playing Final Fantasy X/X-2 which has inspired me to start game coding again, in my "spare time". I've grabbed Unreal 4 and am straining to get my head around its oddities, but enjoying it! My kids are helping me design the game which is really cool, though not all their ideas are workable :) I've come here to chuck ideas around because this is the first "RPG" I've worked on (it's not a classic one as there are no orcs and goblins, but the magic is there, sort of repackaged) and hey, it's not trivial! Good times...

2. kevintrepanier

Original Member Indie Author

Greetings to you! You've got a nice background. Looking forward to what you'll come up with.

lordGoldemort likes this.
  3. MESRecords

MESRecords New Member

An RPG in Unreal 4 as your first project? Good luck. :D

4. lordGoldemort

lordGoldemort New Member

Uh-oh, that sounds like the voice of bitter experience! Is there something I should know? :)

(I mean, apart from the obvious fact that Unreal has a weird architecture and takes forever to compile stuff)

5. MESRecords

MESRecords New Member