Newbie here! Releasing android game. How to monetize?

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by MrSeasons, Feb 4, 2016.

1. MrSeasons

MrSeasons New Member

Hey guys!
    I am a big gamer myself, and as a big gamer, I understand what makes a good game. Now I have been working on my project for about a year now, and my game is in alpha state. My alpha testers are really enthousiastic, and some even tell me they are addicted cause the gameplay is so simple but has quite some depth.

Now the thing is, it is on android. And I feel that people don't like to pay for apps that are on mobile. So how could I best make a profit?

- Make 2 versions, one free, one paid
    - only paid (i will probably not get any installs from this)
    - a free app, that can be upgraded to the full game by paying once
    - EA style (buy ingame moves, items etc. for real money)
    - fully free with ads
    - fully free with no adds, see how it performs and then decide.

What do you guys think?

Frozen Cube likes this.
  2. Crichton333

Crichton333 New Member

Depends on the quality of the game, if your making flappy bird you only have option a) ads.

If the game has some awesome designs then you can go free and paid.

If the game is a trading card game you can roll with In App purchases all day for upgrades and power ups.

3. MrSeasons

MrSeasons New Member

Hi, thnx for the reply!

It is not a flappy bird style game. Actually, I would say it is turning out pretty decent, it is easy to pick up but hard to master. I hired a designer (paid) to make the art as I myself am a die hard engineer.

The game is puzzle, mostly. You have a certain amount of moves per game in order to complete stages or you can go 'endless mode' and see how far you can get.

Do you think it's bad to not go for any ads at all and release it for free and see how well it will do?
    Besides, how much do ads really pay? Is there any indication?

4. Crichton333

Crichton333 New Member