NEWBIE COMPOSER: SEEKING YOUR ADVICE

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Jon_Forest, Mar 10, 2017.

1. Jon_Forest

Jon_Forest New Member

Hi everyone,

My name is Jon, long time lurker, first time poster!

I’m a composer based in Melbourne and just starting out - my focus is writing immersive interactive music for games. I was hoping to get some advice / guidance from you.

I’ve put together a website (www.jonforest.com.au) with a few samples of my music but I’m not entirely sure where to go from here.

What are things that you look for when hiring a composer to make music for your games?

My point of difference is to make a unique and customised piece of music for games that really “pops” over using “stock” sounds that anyone/everyone has access to? So, what would make you hire a composer like me over using stock websites like www.musicbed.com/ that provide cheap or free effects / music etc?

If anyone has any feedback or suggestions it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Jon

2. Symbolize | Caleb

Symbolize | Caleb New Member

"So, what would make you hire a composer like me over using stock websites like www.musicbed.com/ that provide cheap or free effects / music etc?"

Well, first thing I do is I would ask them... Why would you use sites to get high quality music for free or for a low price when you can have someone like "me" come in and create an original soundtrack inspired completely by your game and that will give the player something to remember? Furthermore, you won't hear the soundtrack I create in any other game, movie, commercial or short film.

3. Fanger Pappet

Fanger Pappet New Member