My Game Company is closing

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by GolfHacker, Nov 19, 2013.

1. GolfHacker

GolfHacker Member

Hello everyone,

Just wanted to say a final farewell to my friends here (though I know some have moved on).

My deteriorated health is forcing me to close my business. Although I have enjoyed writing games, the past few years have been very stressful for me as I've struggled to grow the business (without success), and the stress has taken a significant toll on my health. Multiple illnesses that have left my immune system weakened, and several bouts of pneumonia have resulted in chronic lung issues. The bottom line is that I just don't have the strength or endurance to continue working 2 jobs (this one and the one that pays the bills). So I'm afraid I must let this one go.

It was a painful decision to make. I wanted to write games ever since my parents purchased our first computer, the IBM PCjr, for Christmas in 1984. I was a sophomore in high school at the time. My dad had purchased a couple of games with it, one of which was Sierra's first King's Quest game. I loved that game! The PCjr also came with a cartridge that had BASIC on it, and I learned to program BASIC and began writing my own adventure games. I continued writing games in college, as a practical exercise to help me learn various programming languages and techniques. And after college, I tinkered with various half-finished game projects until I finally finished a game and started My Game Company in 2003 to start selling it. Owning my own game company was a lifelong dream come true - and shutting it down was the most difficult decision I've ever had to make.