Monkey

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by joe, Mar 6, 2011.

1. joe

joe
    Original Member

I just started playing around with the new language by Mark Sibly: Monkey.

It's seems like a great tool if you want to reach multiple platforms like HTML5, iPhone, Flash, Android and/or XNA.

To get used to it I wrote a small asteroids clone in around 4 hours:
    http://www.intermediaware.com/blog/1141

The api/mojo framework does lack in a lot features right now, but I'm guessing that the community will improve and create new libs they already done with BlitzMax.

2. Jack Norton

Indie Author

WHAT!! it was out already since 5 days!!
    Bah I was following his blog, I thought he would announce it there first... going to download it :)

3. Desktop Gaming

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

Teach you. :D

Had a play with it over the last few days and its quite good. It is lacking in some features but its quite early days yet, and updates are frequent (there's been two already).

4. Jack Norton

Indie Author

I tried it and is quite good, not as good as python that I'm used too, but still acceptable.
    I think as it is now works better to make webgames than other platforms. Still is great because you can do flash games without getting insane with the worst language ever created (AKA, AS3).
    I suspect 15 lines of monkey gets translated into 500kb of AS3 useless verbosity :D
    (joking, but not even too much!)

5. lennard

AS3 has a lot of issues but I don't see bloat as being in the top 20... 500K would be an immense program - Dungeon Brawl weighs in at 95K total.

I played the asteroids demo and found it really slows down with a little bit of action on the screen.

Does anybody know if Monkey can communicate with server code?

When it compiles for iOs what is it outputting?

6. Jack Norton

Indie Author

the demo is in HTML5 - so obviously much slower than flash :)
    it outputs C code to iOS AFAIK

7. lennard