Low level cross platform interface (making one?)

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by ggambett, Feb 24, 2011.

1. ggambett

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

Although I'm leaving, for several reasons I need/want my old games to continue working and/or porting them to new platforms such as iOS and Android.

My framework is 3 levels deep. The first layer, 115 KLOC is completely platform-independent and provides game-specific features. The second layer, 12 KLOC, abstracts the platform and provides window setup, image rendering, sound playback, TTF rendering, and not much more. The third layer is OpenGL/Direct3D/SDL.

I'd like to substitute the third layer and parts of the second with a single, low level, truly cross-platform library. I want at least Linux, Mac, Windows and iOS, and possibly Android. The problem is, I can't find any!

Looks like Allegro 5 may be a reasonable choice, but I have no experience with it. The next closest thing seems to be SDL 1.3, but it's 1) still not ready, 2) iOS is only supported through a commercial license, 3) Doesn't use Direct3D in Windows. Then there's Torque, but it's 1) commercial, 2) has a terrible reputation, 3) overkill considering I want just a very low level layer.

If I can't find anything useful, I'm considering rolling my own and maybe making it open source.

Any ideas or recommendations?

2. Olofson

Original Member

The Direct3D and OpenGL backends have been developed in parallel from the start, and AFAIK, the Direct3D one is still there.

My "beef" with the new 2D API is that it doesn't do rotation and arbitrary polygons. Though I can understand the reasons for drawing the line somewhere (it would essentially become a new 3D API otherwise), this means I'll stick with native OpenGL, ignoring Direct3D for now.