Looking for advice on suitable engine

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by elements101, Apr 10, 2016.

1. elements101

elements101 New Member

Hiya, I'm a newbie looking for advice on what game engines would be good for a game idea I have.

I want to make a 2D adventure puzzle game with choice-based elements (multiple endings, some character death depending on player choice).

I could use something like Clickteam Fusion but I was hoping for something that would let me expand my coding skills. I'm thinking graphical elements in line with the PS1 adventure game Adventures of Alundra, where the player can move and attack freely alongside their party rather than anything turn based.

I know there's RPG maker (I think?) that To the Stars was built on, though I'd like to make the backgrounds quite unique, maybe even with a water colour style. If anyone has any suggestions, it would be nice to hear them!

I'm good with object oriented languages but my experience with physics engines and graphical rendering is limited.

2. GaiaDreamCreation

Indie Author

Unity has evolved quite a lot for the 2D graphics. I use Unity and I'm quite satisfied so far.

You can look at it. This looks more for platformers.
    http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/topics/2d-game-creation

RPG Maker seems a great solution for RPG games with the style of the console games of the 90s. It's less flexible, but it does provide a more direct solution with many assets already built in. I haven't tried it, but I already looked at it.

elements101 likes this.
  3. Curry_

Curry_ New Member