Leveling Up Mechanics in an RPG

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by ItsNotEmmi, Jun 28, 2016.

1. ItsNotEmmi

ItsNotEmmi New Member

Hello everybody. I'm pretty new at game developing and I was hoping to start creating an RPG in the near future. I know that in games like Pokemon, for example, you can level up so that stats such as attack, defense, health, special attack, ect. increase, but I don't really grasp what actually happens when those numbers increase. How do these numbers multiply to make the player more powerful? When I first started thinking about making an RPG, I thought I would structure it so that a certain attack would take a set number of HP off your opponent, but this doesn't seem very efficient if I wanted to do a leveling up system. Thanks in advance for answering!

2. kevintrepanier

Original Member Indie Author

Wow, there's so many ways to answer that question! Just as there are so many ways to implement algorithms around fighting in an RPG. If you level up, your attack power could increase so that every attack takes MORE HP off an opponent. On the other side, the characters / enemies could have a defense power that subtracts from the attack level so that it reduces the HP that is taken.

You can get a lot of details about how it's calculated in Final Fantasy games here. But it features complicated systems. You can also check out games like Paper Mario which are much easier to swallow because the numbers are lower. You can also study Dungeons & Dragons' system or wrap your head around RPG Maker, which is great tool for making jRPG similar to old SNES era RPGs.