JavaScript and SVG

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by Richard Nunes, Jul 22, 2011.

1. Richard Nunes

Richard Nunes New Member

I have been digging into information about developing games using JavaScript for logic and using SVG for graphics. I have come across many sites that show how to include SVG but no good sources on using JavaScript to manipulate the SVG document. I've tried a few things and I can't seem to access the elements in the SVG document using the either DOM or XPath. There seems to be disagreement about the level of support on different browsers and whether I should use iframe, object or embed tags.

Has anyone tried this? What has your experience been? Is it just easier to use Flash?

2. infocyde

infocyde New Member

Re

This is a non-answer to your question, but just curious...

Have you checked out the HTML 5 Canvas element (assuming you have). Any reason why you have decided to go the SVG route?

I'm a noob at both. Seems like much more and less cryptic info exists for the Canvas tag. The following might be helpful but I'm sure you've already stumbled upon similar http://www.adobe.com/svg/basics/intro.html

3. richtaur

Indie Author

The most notable JavaScript SVG library is probably Raphael. I don't have much experience with SVG but the only games I make these days are JavaScript and Canvas/DOM. Canvas is awesome!

4. Richard Nunes

Richard Nunes New Member

I did look at Canvas but there are a few things that I like about SVG: it's XML so I can use a generator (written in C) to build maps or write them by hand, I can edit SVG in Illustrator, it's supported by older browsers (the only real knock against Canvas), it's very easy to mix SVG with HTML.

I'm working on an abstract strategy game using simple maps that I can draw in SVG and remain fairly static. I can edit an SVG document based on user input and it stays static for the next ten minutes. I don't need the rendering capability of Canvas.

5. oNyx

Original Member