Java in 2004

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by tentons, Mar 1, 2004.

1. tentons

Indie Author

I love Java, but I don't make games with it. Yet. C++ could learn a lot from it (and Visual Studio could learn a lot from Eclipse).

It's taught me a lot about object oriented design, and being an old C programmer, I was stuck in procedural mode. So learning Java really helped force me to begin thinking in objects instead of functions. And, perhaps ironically, that improved my C++ skills a lot.

I would probably make games with it, but for now there aren't enough "middleware" options (engines/frameworks/etc) for game development. There are plenty for C++, so that's what I'm doing.

One interesting possibility is to use JNI to hook a C++ engine with Java, and that might prove to be a good thing. But I have to get some revenue flowing before I can do R&D like that.

I am also interested in exploring managed C++ under .NET, but that kind of rules out simple ports to Mac and Linux, doesn't it?

2. princec

Indie Author

In a cruel twist of irony, the Java 1.5beta2 I have installed here won't even run my own damned games - some sort of daft socket error. That'll teach me for using beta software.

We're looking at donations to buy a Mac for Elias to make the Mac port. That's all the bases covered pretty much. Anyone got a few bucks to donate? Everything gratefully received.

(Anyone else seen this:
    Code:
    java.io.IOException: Stream closed.
    	at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.available(Unknown Source)
    	at java.net.SocketInputStream.available(Unknown Source)
    	at java.io.BufferedInputStream.available(Unknown Source)
    	at sun.net.www.MeteredStream.available(Unknown Source)
    	at sun.net.www.http.KeepAliveStream.close(Unknown Source)
    	at java.io.FilterInputStream.close(Unknown Source)
    	at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection$HttpInputStream.close(Unknown Source)
    	at java.io.BufferedInputStream.close(Unknown Source)