Is my game too difficult or too confusing?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by ClaudioA, Aug 24, 2016.

?
  1. Confusing

100.0%
  2. Difficult

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. ClaudioA

ClaudioA
    Expand Collapse

I am self taught solo developer and student of energy and environment and have been developing my game for the past year.
    I have just launched on gamejolt: http://bit.ly/2bCrSYQ

The unity funnel I created tells me that from 83 players, only 16 reached the 4th level. And the 4th level is where things start to get interesting.
    See the funnel here:

I have spoke with some players and some don't understand why they lose others don't understand how to pass the levels.
    It is a strategy game and I am afraid to bore the players with the tutorial, so I try to explain only the essentials.

To improve this completion rate what you think is the best: Give a more in depth tutorial or make the levels easier so the player has time to understand the details?

2. SLotman

SLotman
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member Indie Author

I understood everything in the game. But the game is watching 2 bars go up and down, and flipping switches trying to keep the green bar higher than the yellow one. Most of the time, you just stare at the screen.

I played the game, then I ran out of coal and it was over. Didn't feel any desire to play it again.

The idea of managing resources for electricity is good - but it needs something more to keep players "busy". Maybe letting them place buildings or something? Clicking on the map to find natural resources?

Also, don't wait until "level 4" to make the game "good". Most players won't even go further than 5 mins into the game - so you need to hook them in that time slot.

3. kurdle

kurdle
    Expand Collapse

Ok - Great Idea, but it needs more. Because right now, all you do is flip some switches and wait.

4. NO9

NO9
    Expand Collapse
    Original Member