I'm leaving the industry

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by ggambett, Feb 3, 2011.

1. ggambett

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

It's funny how some things happen... http://forums.indiegamer.com/showpost.php?p=238135&postcount=15

After 9 years, I'm leaving game development.

It's a bittersweet moment. Mystery Studio was the realization of my childhood dream, and gave me more satisfactions than I can possibly explain here. For 9 years it was a central part of my life.

I was a 21 year old kid when I found the famous Dexterity forums, which IMHO inspired a generation of indie game developers. It was the first time I thought making games for a living, my dream since I was 4 or 5, was a real possibility. Together with my young sister as the artist and a friend from college as the musician, we went on to develop our first game.

It's been almost 9 years now. In this time we've been up and down, we had hits and misses. I met lots of interesting people, both online and in real life.

I witnessed the initial growth of the industry. Nobody wanted Betty's Beer Bar when it came out in late 2003 because it was too different to what was there at the time. One big portal famously proclaimed “nobody wants to play a game where they must work!”. But a guy who was just getting started with his site saw the potential, gave us lots of valuable feedback and pushed the game, which became a hit and gave birth to the time management genre. That guy was Paul Thelen and his small site was called Big Fish Games.

In the later years we shifted our focus to 3rd party projects. Thanks to our long partnership with Legacy Interactive, which began with the Lost Cases of Sherlock Holmes franchise, we had the opportunity of working in games using very high-profile licenses, such as CSI:NY (with the nice bonus of lowering our degrees of separation to Gary Sinise and the rest of the cast, who did voice acting for the game).