I have ideas but dont know where to go.

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Maue, May 2, 2015.

1. Maue

Maue New Member

Hello,

You can call me Maue, and it's kind of been my passion to design a sandbox MMO for as long as I can remember. This game has been evolving and living in my mind for YEARS and YEARS now (I have an entire world built and even know how I want things to interact with each other, try me. Ask anything about my world and I can explain why.) but I seem to be stuck on how accomplish the technical-computerey aspect of the designing process. I'm more of just the "hey I have a vision and here's how it should fit together" person than the person who actually puts it together in the computer. I'm to the point where I've hit a wall.

Here's the questions that I have:
    (This is my first time using an Indie Forum so, please, be gentle.)

1. How would I protect my game (the idea, or soul of it) so that I can share information and recruit people to assist? Do I just write up a legal note saying "hey, sign this and if you blab or steal then this will happen" and pass it out?

2. Where should I look to get help from people who can actually program and model and code and maybe help make a short movie about my game? Do I just ask on here?

I have a general idea of what I need to do, but not the know-how or manpower to do it. I want to protect my game so I can share it with you guys, and get help to make videos and some artwork so I can start up a kickstarter. Once a kickstarter is actually up and running I'll be able to support any people who help me with the computer aspect of fleshing out the world and running servers. I just kind of need someone to toss the ball around with to actually get this game up and moving. A manager to heard my creative flow into the physical world, even. And just some good old fashioned help actually creating a world.