HTML5 Game Development

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by NighteySenpai, Dec 4, 2011.

1. NighteySenpai

NighteySenpai New Member

After the Removal of Flash from Phones it is obvious Apple only wants to promote Native apps, However I have often seen Flash game Sales Figures (take Fantastic Contraption,SteamBirds,Rebuild etc) show that there is money that can be made on the Flash Platform. However can the same be said about HTML5? I mean the code can easily be copied, And after reading Lost Decade's Games Blog Post about Their Experience on Onslaught Arena. I was Wondering is it worth it to jump on the HTML5 Bandwagon? Maybe in a Few years HTML5 will kill Flash, But Right now it looks little premature? No?

Also is there any to obfuscate your code?

P.S I am a total noob.

#1 NighteySenpai, Dec 4, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2011
  2. Vdek

Vdek New Member

I've been playing around with Construct 2 for making HTML5 stuff, it's pretty neat and has an option to obfuscate your code.

3. Desktop Gaming

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

HTML5 is a bit of a browser-dependent lottery - things that work perfectly well in Chrome (which is among the best for HTML5 support) don't work or behave correctly on other popular browsers. For that reason alone, I wouldn't bother with it yet.

4. Richard Nunes

Richard Nunes New Member

Heck, HTML 4 support isn't consistent between browsers.

It comes down to the must-have features and capabilities for a particular project. I have used Raphael JS to add some must-have features on some projects; other projects work just fine using HTML 4 and Javascript.

5. Simon Tomlin

Simon Tomlin New Member

I am using Sencha's Ext 4 JS to write my game as it uses Raphael in its framework. The guy who wrote Raphael is part of Sencha now.

I do not think this approach would be ideal for a game which is heavily graphical orientated but its fine for my strategy war game which only requires SVG with animation.