How to stay motivated?

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by tolworthy, Jun 7, 2011.

1. tolworthy

tolworthy New Member

How do you stay motivated when your inner passion is all used up?

I've been working on my project for 13 years now. My subconscious is saying "13 years and you still aren't rich. Give it up." yet intellectually i know that this is the time to put in one last sprint: for reasons that would take too long to explain, this year I solved all the problems that held the game back, and massive rewards depend on me getting it finished now. But I am emotionally shot. Any suggestions?

2. Jack Norton

Indie Author

13 years!? how is that possible? :eek:

3. Chris

Original Member

Scrap it. If it was dragging for XX years it is dead already. Make a new one, and this time with clear deadline (best if you make a playable and finished game in a month, this would give you the skills and attitude you need).

4. Indinera

Moderator Indie Author

How many months do you estimate the "final sprint" to take?

5. meds

meds New Member

I figure everyone has been where I am stuck at currently, if other people can make it through the boredom why can't I?

Also please don't take 13 years to make a game next time.

6. tolworthy

tolworthy New Member

It's a long term project, made of individual games that get faster and faster to make, due to how the project is designed.

That's the irony: it's more alive than ever. The first 4 games had weaknesses that I think I have now solved, and they're getting easier and easier to make. But I still cannot say "on date X it will be perfect."

2 months to complete the current game, then 4 months to create another game just to make sure I can do it without new problems arising. Afer that I can relax: I'll have a smooth production line that can generate a full length game of reliable quality and bring in reliable income every 3 months. But until then uncertainty reigns.

7. Indinera

Moderator Indie Author