How long do indie games take to complete?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by RedBowHemian, Jun 22, 2017.

1. RedBowHemian

RedBowHemian New Member

Hi everyone!

I am new to indie game development. I'd like to know how long, on average, it usually takes to complete an indie game from start to finish? And what kind of problems are you likely to encounter during production?

Many thanks :)

2. onpon4

onpon4 New Member

That depends on the game, doesn't it? Some take barely any time at all (see PyWeek for example where you make a small game in a week or less, and I think there are even such contests with 24 hour time limits), while some will take years to make. It also depends on your experience level. More experience = faster development, usually.

3. RedBowHemian

RedBowHemian New Member

Hey thanks for replying! :)

4. tiny_beard

tiny_beard New Member

A big thing is whether you've used the game engine you'll be developing on, too. I just made a 1-2 hour game all by myself and it took 8 months of free time... and about half of that was just making things work how I wanted using the game engine.

5. RedBowHemian

RedBowHemian New Member

Congratulations on all your hard work! :) Has your game been released now to play?

6. tiny_beard

tiny_beard New Member

Yeah, I released it. Not sure if it's any good. I've gotten like 30-35 downloads total and no feedback.

My worry is that the game is too dull. It's a simple point and click adventure game, and frankly it might not be a compelling enough of an experience to make people want to continue playing through it once they get stuck or bored with a puzzle. I also think one of the puzzles near the end might be messing people up. I'm not entirely sure. I could easily simplify the puzzle, but at the same time there needs to be a challenge.