How do you work on one game with other people online?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by PixelShroom, May 2, 2017.

1. PixelShroom

PixelShroom New Member

Basically, I am a newbie in making video games but I'd love to build an indie game team so it would be easier for me to learn and progress. However, I don't know if there is an efficient way to work on one game with people over the internet. I could for example work on a game in a game engine, but every time someone in my team would want to take that game to test it or see anything in the engine, I'd have to send the game on e-mail or anything like that which seems very inconvenient. Is there a way to synchronize this or anything so when I make any changes to the game, another person in the team could look at these changes right away? Btw, the game engine that I want to use is Stencyl.

SantaCode likes this.
  2. Toskigi

Toskigi New Member

Hey man! This was an issue for me for a bit too, but then we discovered "Dropbox". It works pretty well. Just let people use the same dropbox account and they'll instantly have your files and what not. I'm not entirely sure how it would work with "Stencyl" but I've been using it for RPGMAKER VX ACE and RPGMAKER MV, as well as an older maker "Xtremeworlds" and it works pretty flawlessly (aside from the fact that we would have to co-ordinate who's editing what so that if we save, it doesn't override what they just did.

PixelShroom likes this.
  3. PixelShroom

PixelShroom New Member

Thanks a lot! I'll use it for a team if I can get one :D

4. GlotzEulor

GlotzEulor New Member

For beginning dropbox is a solid solution, but if you have more than maybe 3 team members it can get ugly pretty soon. Because everbody can edit every file, but sometimes you want to go back to a older version or try something out without destroying your project structure.

There are of course a lot of great tools availabley, I can tell you what we use in our 5 member team.