Health Insurance

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by GBGames, Jul 28, 2004.

1. GBGames

Indie Author

** C & P from Dexterity forums **

As I decided to not get a full-time job immediately after my undergrad degree in order to leave more time to do game development, I found that I will no longer be on my parents' insurance plan after my birthday at the end of July. I need to start looking into getting my own plan, as I will not be getting such benefits from my current part-time job.

While I will be doing quite a bit of research on it in the coming month, I am also new to insurance information. I have no current idea what may be considered good/bad or where to get good information to compare different policies. While I will figure it out eventually, I think it wouldn't hurt to get some help from people who may already have experience with this.

Any information, advice, or websites people can point me to for help with this decision will be greatly appreciated. Naturally I don't want to get something that is overly expensive, but I don't want to get some poor coverage just because it is cheap either.

Thanks!

Mark Fassett 07-07-2004 04:32 PM
    The best way I found to get health insurance (and other benefits) if you are self-employed, is to have a spouse with a job that provides benefits :) I know that's not particularly helpful, and probably not what you're interested in, but that's how I have my health insurance.

milieu 07-07-2004 05:57 PM
    Most health plans these days offer individual health plans. These are basically the same as the group plans most employers use, but the price tends to be higher, as you do not benefit from the group rate.

Ask your friends and family in the local area about their HMOs. Then research the plans on the HMO websites, and make sure they accept individuals.

Dexterity 07-07-2004 06:24 PM