Going Mac?

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by KNau, Aug 22, 2004.

1. KNau

Original Member

Hi,

I am set on porting my games to the Mac platform (and maybe even doing Mac exclusives!) and I'm looking for advice on the system I'm buying. I want to start at the low-end of the Mac spectrum to ensure basic compatibility, here is the (used) system I'm looking at:

iMac DV 400 MHz
    192 MB Ram
    10GB Hard Drive
    4x DVD-ROM
    ATI Rage 128
    OS X

Is that a good base line for the "average" minimalist Mac system out there? I will be picking up a used G5 probably in November for the upper end.

Also, my PC is hooked up to cable modem, does anyone know if the Mac can share that connection through a router? Sorry, I know absolutely nothing about the Mac platform. Any advice on usage, software or community info sites is much, much appreciated!

Thanks!

2. Chris Evans

Moderator Original Member

I'm fairly new to the Mac world as well, but I can answer your question about sharing connections.

You can indeed share your internet connection with your PC. If you have at least average knowledge of setting up a home network, then you shouldn't have a problem at all doing it yourself. I have two PCs and an I-Mac all going through a single router. Also, I have all three computers networked together, so I can easily share files between them.

3. Rainer Deyke

Indie Author

I managed to compile my latest game on an even lower-end used Mac. As long as it's got OS X, it's usable (for 2D games that target low-end computers).

4. Sillysoft

Indie Author