Game idea: Rise of the Underdog

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by HackInTime, Nov 25, 2017.

1. Gud.

2. Bhed.

3. okey

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. HackInTime

HackInTime New Member

Nov 25, 2017
    Now, this is a long, long time off. I have no programming knowledge, no idea of what engine to use, and most importantly, i have school to deal with. But i had a bit of an idea for a game after some recent things i've seen. Here's a copy from a word document i made:

Potential name: Rise of the Underdog

Basic idea for the gameplay: A mix of Persona’s school-life simulator and a beat-em-up Metroid-vania, like God of War, or my main inspiration, The Legend of Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon, mixed with CLASSIC Castlevania with the explorative aspects of Symphony of the night and later games.

Your school life works much how it would in Persona, with the ability to make various decisions about how you live your life, you can make friends for various reasons and use them in your party, even going so far as being able to romance other characters.

Combat is combo and magic based, all built around using various combos with various types of weapons, including Claws, various types of swords, and more. The main character will largely use Melee weapons, with other characters being able to use magic staves and wands to use magic, various ranged weapons like Guns, bows and more, depending on the character. Each character will use a different type of weapon, and therefore have different skills. The first player always controls the main character- the second player has a choice of any of the party members.

World: The world is unnamed, and may simply be a future earth. In this world, humans and evolved, anthropomorphic animals mostly live together in society. Yet, the animals aren’t always accepted, much as a person of other ethnicities may not be in the real world.

Protagonist -Name not decided yet-