Game idea, need help!

Discussion in 'Development & Distribution' started by GWills, Jul 1, 2010.

1. GWills

GWills New Member

I am not a game developer, I just have an idea for a new game. I have no idea how to bring this idea to life, if anyone can help, that would be great! I have questions like how do I protect my idea, how do I even get started, etc.

2. jpoag

jpoag New Member

In case you aren't a spammer:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Game_development

Pretty much covers the basics.

Then you learn a particular part of the trade, such as programming or production.

Next, start networking at GameDev.net, DevMaster.net, indiegamer.com, etc... etc... That will lead to you hiring the missing talent needed to produce your game.

Buy a lot of books on the subject:

The Indie Developers' Guide to Selling Games is still relevant if a bit dated.

Art of Game Design is a good book if you're starting out.

Don't miss How To Sell Your Game Boot Camp.

As you read those materials, you'll be able to do Google Searches on keywords and phrases to expand your knowledge, like DRM or Spammer.

3. richtaur

Indie Author

edit: oops, double post, sorry. please ignore :)

#3 richtaur, Jul 1, 2010
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2010
  4. richtaur

Indie Author

First you should read these articles: The value of game ideas and Why your game idea sucks.

Then read this which talks about why execution is more valuable than the idea.

My advice to you: first understand that everyone has their own ideas, probably dozens of ideas, and they love them more than yours because they are their own. You do not need to protect your idea. If you feel like you do, you do not understand that ideas are not important. Execution is important.