Game graphics released for public domain! (mostly tiles)

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by anders2, May 3, 2011.

1. anders2

anders2 New Member

As I now have released my first game I am releasing most of the graphics
    used in the game as public domain, and some of the graphics was
    never used in the game I released. In total it's more then 700 files,
    most of them are tiles/animated tiles (64*64). Their quality differ,
    after all I'm not a graphics artist, but I hope that they can be
    useful to folks out there anyway.

These files are released to public domain. You're free to use these for
    any purpose, free or commercial. Please drop me a mail if you plan to
    use them, it would be fun to see what they are used for!
    (use the email button on the site)

You can preview some of them pasted in a picture by clicking here:
    http://www.hypermotion.se/download/TileExamples.png

The zip file with the graphics is available here, check the download section:
    http://www.hypermotion.se

2. Desktop Gaming

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

Looking at the standard of the sample image, I'd wager that these images are not all created by the same person, as some are OK and some are plain awful.

Do you own copyright on these images to be able to do this?

3. DayDream

Indie Author

Anders2 - I know it's your first game and you are rightfully proud of it. But let's be brutally honest here as far as the art goes it's miles below par. Putting it out as public domain [when like Desktop mentioned it looks a lot like things found on the net by googling] feels like an insult to me. Grow up, get real and check what's out there as free art resources.

4. anders2

anders2 New Member

Wow, I wasn't prepared for this kind of bashing, especially from people who made these number of posts.

They are all made by me. But as I stated in my post I'm not a graphics artist,
    and the quality differ. They are made in different ways, some are GIMP:ed from