Game Engine Decisions

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Steven solof, Feb 16, 2018.

1. Steven solof

Steven solof New Member

Hello everybody,

I have been learning coding on and off for the past several months. For practice, I was able to design some educational apps for my students. I want to turn these apps into games but have had some varying results in my approaches. It would be great to get some feedback on choosing an appropriate approach.

1. I have kind of learned javascript, jquery, html, and css so it would be nice to continue down this route and pick an engine that supports these languages.

2. It seems as though Unity/C# seems to be the most popular approach right now. Would learning C# be wise or unnecessary since I already have such a head start with the javascript approach?

3. While it seems possible to pick an engine in the javascript realm, it has come to my attention that this approach is more niche/esoteric so it may be difficult to find support when I get in a jam. Thoughts on this?

Thanks,
    Steve

2. Jonininireland

Jonininireland New Member