Freelance artwork...

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by Reactor, Mar 25, 2005.

1. Reactor

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

First thing- if this is the wrong place to post this, could one of the mods please move it to the appropriate forum? Thanks... I'm not completely sure which forum is best for this, since it's not a job proposal.

After hearing the calls for cheaper freelance, and having some time to burn between projects, I'm looking to do a little freelance artwork. I'm considering charging about $50US for a solid day's work (about 6 hours). From what I've read, most artists charge about $20 an hour, so that's a very cheap rate. However, I'm not the world's best artist, and although I have some experience under my belt, I don't have a huge amount of experience with the new programs I'm currently learning. With the older ones like Truespace, I'm quite comfortable, however.

In other words, I'm capable, but I'm hardly going to take on the big guys.

Since financially I'm looking for a little more income, I'm either going for the good ol' part-time job, or I could really push myself (learn a whole lot) and try my hand at freelance work.

What I'd like to know is- what do other people on this forum think about cheaper rates for less than perfect artwork? If there's a resounding "Yep, that could be helpful." I'll jump in and get to work. If people would rather pay the big dollars for someone who's guaranteed to produce what you want, I'll leave the idea behind until I know I'm fully capable to tackle any task.

Thanks for any feedback.

2. svero

You need to post some kind of portfolio of the work you've done.

3. hh10k

Original Member

The best portfolio of my work can be seen at the Superfurious website. All 2D and 3D art is mine. Also, can people reply to this post here? I've tried in the past and was unable to reply to posts in this forum.

(I'm not even sure this will post)

4. Ricardo C

Original Member