Free or not to Free that is the question?

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by Arowx, Sep 19, 2011.

1. Arowx

Arowx New Member

Hi I'm a startup Unity game developer and I'm planning on releasing games for ios/android/pc and mac.

Should I release my games as Freemium, with Ads and in app purchases?

There is a lot of hype about this but I guess the pros for Freemium are:

Zero Fiction to Try the game.
    What's the point in pirating a free game.
    You get paid from the Ad provider or the player can turn off the ads with via iAP.
    Players can progress via play or pay at their own speed.

Cons:

Lost of content needed.
    What about Flow and an experience.
    Ad income could be a fraction of that from purchases.
    Added complexity at the back end integrating payment and ad systems.

What's your take on this, is it a race to the bottom or a whole new ballpark?

2. Pallav Nawani

Indie Author

You have to decide the business model BEFORE you design the game. Reason being, freemium is a business model that cannot be retrofitted to just any game - you need to think about it beforehand.

Also, why don't you go to gamedev.net and ask your questions there (too)?

3. jpoag

jpoag New Member

I just spent $25 on a free to play game, without in-game advertisement.

The game didn't have 'lots' of content, but the content that it did have was dished out using the skinner box design [Video]

Pick up and read this book: The Business of iPhone and iPad App Development. It addresses in-App purchasing with example code.

4. arzi

Metacritic 75+ Indie Author

I'm with Gabe Newell here, "premature monetization is the root of all evil." The most suitable way to monetize will become apparent when the game nears completion. I'd spend all effort on making the best possible game, not thinking about monetization.

5. Nexic

Indie Author