First step into Mac World (some feedback needed)

Discussion in 'Feedback Requests' started by Jack Norton, Nov 7, 2004.

  1. Jack Norton

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    So at last bought an iBook G4 1,2Ghz to port my games directly :)
    At first I was pleased with Mac OS, then I had some troubles with it... the most fun thing was a bug appearing ONLY if I had my network cable plugged in! (very weird)
    I have some questions to Mac experts here. It is normal that the same application compiled in xCode is 1,6Mb while compiled with Codewarrior is just 500kb? :D
    Also, if anyone has some spare time, I managed to finish my first mac build here:

    http://www.winterwolves.com/games/TheGoalkeeper2.sit

    ...no, isn't a new game, is just The Goalkeeper recompiled by me :eek:
    if someone has a mac and want to do a quick test on it and give me some feedback I'd appreciate it.
    I am still to scared to put it online in place of the "old" one (working well !)
     
  2. Sillysoft

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    831
    Likes Received:
    0
    xCode has some options in it that speed up compiling while in development. This makes the produced binary bigger. Somewhere (maybe in target or executable section get info) you can change it from 'development' mode to 'deployment' mode. This should make the size smaller.

    Quick test results: There is no application icon. Pressing command-Q quits the game, but I think that it should ask if you want to save your game. In the save game screen with all slots empty I clicked save and nothing happened. I had to select a slot for it to work. I think there could be some whistle sounds at half-time and at the end of the match. The rest of the music and sound are very nice.

    All in all there were no issues with playing the game. It was cool.
     
  3. Codemattic

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2004
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    man strip! (sounds almost pornographic)

    (quick note - in XCode you can go to the help->open_man_page... menu instead of using the terminal.app if you want)

    I havent done it, but as I understand it - 'strip' will make your filesize smaller and make cracking your executable harder.

    HTH, Codemattic
     
  4. Jack Norton

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    5,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I found the setting, my build has already the flag "deployment" set :( still is so big.
    Strange that you didn't found the application icon, here I see it :confused:
    I'll try that strip setting :) thanks
     

Share This Page

  • About Indie Gamer

    When the original Dexterity Forums closed in 2004, Indie Gamer was born and a diverse community has grown out of a passion for creating great games. Here you will find over 10 years of in-depth discussion on game design, the business of game development, and marketing/sales. Indie Gamer also provides a friendly place to meet up with other Developers, Artists, Composers and Writers.
  • Buy us a beer!

    Indie Gamer is delicately held together by a single poor bastard who thankfully gets help from various community volunteers. If you frequent this site or have found value in something you've learned here, help keep the site running by donating a few dollars (for beer of course)!

    Sure, I'll Buy You a Beer