Do you wish you were an Artist instead?

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by indiemaker, Dec 17, 2006.

1. indiemaker

Original Member

While I love programming, I realize that I also enjoy creating Art. Both are forms of creating, but Artwork is more enjoyable and creative. Unfortunately, I am not good at drawing so I have to stick with programming.

Damn, I wish I had some Art talent. :)

2. oldschool

Original Member

I didn't have any art talent till I took an art class in middle school, but I did know how to program in GWbasic:rolleyes: . Here is a link to a a similar topic http://forums.indiegamer.com/showthread.php?t=9123
    it has a lot of drawing resources. Practice is very important, tools not so much.

PS. I learned by the "Drawing On The Right Side Of The Brain" method by Betty Edwards from the book of the same name. It took some time but I was really good till my dad made me stop drawing.

PSS. I wish I could make music.

3. Uhfgood

Original Member

Your dad made you stop? BTW I had the book Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain and lost it (the second edition). And I got the portfolio with video to go through. Only problem is haven't gotten a chance to really use it.

Draw right is really pretty good though, and i'd like to complete the course.

4. Christian

Original Member

You just need to put the effort my friend, you wouldnt imagine how much i improved in the course of this year and all because i have put the effort on learning, you can get good but only if you put effort. You just need to study books, practice from life, practice from your mind, study how to see things, how things look, study other peoples work, and have patience, enjoy the process, otherwise frustration will make things worse.

Dont put excuses, if you wish, you can.

5. esrix

Original Member