Distribution free Windows games

Discussion in 'Development & Distribution' started by charliedog, Nov 19, 2009.

1. charliedog

charliedog New Member

I've been making games for the PC for a few years now and I have four games on my site, all of which have had great reviews in sites such as "Jay is Games" "Game Tunnel" and other casual/indie game related blogs. Yet the number of downloads I am seeing have dwindled to the point where it's not worth doing anymore. These are free games. No charge at all. They play well, look good, are technically polished, yet I can't even give them a way for free anymore:(

[​IMG]

It really makes me sad that I've put a lot of effort into games and not only am I not making money out of them but also very few people will see them.

So can anyone offer me some practical advice on how to get my games out to a broader audience? At this stage of the game I'm not even interested in generating web traffic through my site, I'm happy for other sites to hot link to the games download links just so the games get more exposure.

http://dc167.4shared.com/download/143266374/dbb547c4/Balloon_Brothers_v132.exe

Is it just me or is the PC games download scene turning to shit? I used to get thousands of downloads a month for my new games now I'm lucky to make a few hundred a month and that's when the games are fresh. Seems that the only interest in PC games these days is Flash.

[​IMG]

Unless something changes radically in the next few months I won't be doing anymore downloadable PC games. Just seems very sad :(

http://www.charliedoggames.com

regards,

Tony Oakden

2. jrjellybeans

jrjellybeans New Member

Hey Tony, it does seem that currently people are buying LESS games than before, but you're giving them away so I don't know if that applies to you.

With that said, there could be a ton of reasons why your games aren't doing well. I can't think of anything concrete, but just to give you some ideas...