Complete Beginner Trying to Find Where to Start

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Marrowick, Mar 25, 2016.

1. Marrowick

Marrowick New Member

Hi, I am an aspiring game developer, right now I want to get into game development, but I have absolutely no prior experience game creation, or coding, or graphics, or anything. I want to know a few key points.

Where should I learn

What should I learn

What language should I use

What Engine should I use

Should I use an engine

Any helpful tips, tricks, or advice that you might have.

Thank you.

2. MountainGuardian

MountainGuardian New Member

I am quite new myself, in fact I have about 7 days experience at this point.
    One thing I would say from what I have learned over my 7 day day study career... lol... is that, the answers to those questions are quite variable dependent upon what you are interested in doing exactly.
    Are you looking at programming for PC, game platforms, phone games etc. Are you looking at 2d or 3d games.. What type and style of game do you feel a passion for. Have you done any study on what market you be interested in aiming for.
    Doing some study and answering those questions may help you to answer some of the questions you posted.

3. Marrowick

Marrowick New Member

I'm mainly looking into gaming for the PC, but I might have better learning experience from mobile games due to their characteristic simplicity.

4. 3ph0r

depends on what your end goal is.
    if you just want to make 2d games that aren't too complex then i would use something like game maker or GDevelop where you don't need much coding at all.

if on the other hand your end goal is to make complex and bigger games and / or joining a team or get a job in the industry then i would recommend finding a discipline that you find the most fun and specialize in that. for example programming, 2d/3d art, design etc.