Bully shroom engine test

Discussion in 'Feedback Requests' started by JarkkoL, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi peeps,

    I created a little test [4.44MB] for my 3D game engine Spin-X Engine to test if graphics & physics engines run properly on different PC's. I would appreciate if you could try it out and send me the log.txt file if it's crashing or misbehaving in some other way, so I could try to fix the issues. This is a Windows executable and requires that you have NVIDIA PhysX System Software installed since the test is using PhysX for physics and also SM3.0 capable video card.

    And here's screenshot what you should see:
    [​IMG]


    Thanks!
    Jarkko
     
  2. arnienet

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked fine

    It ran ok here,

    NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT
    1280 x 768 windowed @ 16 fps

    will PM log.txt,

    cheers
     
  3. sulaiman

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    There were no problems running it.

    Average FPS:98

    Win7 64-bit, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 w/768, 4GB Ram
     
  4. vjvj

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    0
    80fps on a 9600GT, no issues. I waited for it to settle to that framerate (it start out at 66fps).

    Also, I have PhysX GPU acceleration disabled.
     
  5. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for everyone who tried it out! Glad to hear people don't generally have issues running it :)
     
  6. TheMysteriousStranger

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can run it just fine (around 90fps on a decent gaming rig, is it limited to that speed? I would have expected higher) but there was a problem...

    The shrooms kept popping in and out of existence (or at least, in and out of being drawn). Quite often I would see the shrooms lying on the floor get knocked around by something that wasn't there.

    I'll PM you the log.

    Can I ask you something - You have a very nice detailed output of user system specs in the log - did you code each bit by hand, or are you using a library that does all the work for you? If it's a library, link please? :)
     
  7. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's v-synced and there's quite a big contant overhead due to light pre-pass rendering and haven't done any optimizations for it yet either. Strange thing with missing shrooms. Sounds like it's a rendering issue. The log doesn't help much except that judging from the date you got pretty recent drivers, so that shouldn't be it at least.

    The system info component is part of Spin-X Engine.


    Cheers, Jarkko
     
  8. TheMysteriousStranger

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    The non-rendering was weird. It wasn't depth related, as shrooms were being drawn behind and in front of the invisible ones. There was no display corruption, and most shrooms would start visible, then as they slowed down from landing/impacts, they would pop away for a few seconds, then come back, then I assume they were removed by the app a few seconds later.

    It really seemed like the app was setting some kind of "don't draw this shroom" flag at seemingly random intervals. Heap corruption maybe?
     
  9. Applewood

    Moderator Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    My guess would be nans coming out of the physics matrices for whatever reason.
     
  10. jpoag

    jpoag New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Checksum: 0xd10283b7
    Operating System Information:
    Name: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1.7600)
    Total Physical Memory: 2815MB (1383MB free)
    Total Virtual Memory: 5629MB (4029MB free)
    CPU Information:
    Name: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 240 Processor
    Description: AMD64 Family 16 Model 6 Stepping 2
    Manufacturer: AuthenticAMD
    Architecture: x64 (64-bit) running on a 64-bit OS
    Number of Processors: 1 (2 Cores & 2 HW Threads)
    L2 Cache Size: 2048KB
    L3 Cache Size: 0KB
    Memory Module Information:
    BANK0: 1024MB
    BANK1: 2048MB
    Video Adapter Information:
    Name: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    Total Memory: 256MB
    Drivers: nvd3dumx.dll,nvd3dum
    Driver Version: 8.15.11.8655 (7/29/2009)
    Monitor Information:
    Description: Generic PnP Monitor
    Native Resolution: 1440 x 900
    =========================================================
    Loaded Direct3D9 (d3d9.dll v6.1.7600.16385)
    Created windowed Direct3D9 device:
    Adapter: NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
    Driver Version: 8.15.11.8655
    Resolution: 1280 x 720 [X8R8G8B8]
    Supported Shader Models: vs3.0, ps3.0
    Max Texture Resolution: 4096 x 4096
    Max Simultaneous Textures: 8
    Max Simultaneous RTs: 4
    Max Anisotropic Filtering: 16
    Loaded NVIDIA PhysX (PhysXLoader.dll v2.8.3.31)
    Initialized PhysX SDK (v2.8.1)
    Created software PhysX scene
    Average FPS: 2
     
  11. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    A common denominator for the rendering problem seems to be Radeon HD video cards. Can someone with a Radeon HD check if they are able to run it without problems or if there are some rendering issues as well?

    Cheers, Jarkko
     
  12. Pogacha

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Code:
    Operating System Information:
      Name: Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1.2600)
      Service Pack: Service Pack 3
      Total Physical Memory: 2029MB (1140MB free)
      Total Virtual Memory: 2048MB (2007MB free)
    CPU Information:
      Name: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7300 @ 2.00GHz
      Description: x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 10
      Manufacturer: GenuineIntel
      Architecture: x86 (32-bit) running on a 32-bit OS
      Number of Processors: 1 (2 Cores & 2 HW Threads)
      L2 Cache Size: 4096KB
      L3 Cache Size: 0KB
    Memory Module Information:
      BANK 0: 1024MB
      BANK 1: 1024MB
    Video Adapter Information:
      Name: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT
      Total Memory: 128MB
      Drivers: ati2dvag.dll
      Driver Version: 6.14.10.6764 (4/15/2008)
    Monitor Information:
      Description: Monitor predeterminado
      Native Resolution: 1680 x 1050
    =========================================================
    Loaded Direct3D9 (d3d9.dll v5.3.2600.5512)
    Created windowed Direct3D9 device:
      Adapter: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2400 XT
      Driver Version: 6.14.10.6764
      Resolution: 1280 x 720 [X8R8G8B8]
      Supported Shader Models: vs3.0, ps3.0
      Max Texture Resolution: 8192 x 8192
      Max Simultaneous Textures: 8
      Max Simultaneous RTs: 4
      Max Anisotropic Filtering: 16
    Loaded NVIDIA PhysX (PhysXLoader.dll v2.8.1.14)
    Initialized PhysX SDK (v2.8.1)
    Created software PhysX scene
    
    Here it is a video of what I see.
    http://www.southwindsgames.com/archives/bully_shroom_2010_07_24.avi

    I hope it helps.
    Good luck :)
     
  13. vjvj

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, the 6150 is an example of how "make it as cheap as possible" can be taken too far :(
     
  14. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. jpoag

    jpoag New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, yeah I guess so.

    What I do is buy the cheapest PCs/Macs on the market as my test machines. It's great for producing commercial games, but it sucks to try and watch eye candy tech demos.
     
  16. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it depends on your target audience. I'm trying to target gamers with $100 graphics cards and up, i.e. HD 4800+ and the likes.

    Cheers, Jarkko
     
  17. jpoag

    jpoag New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yepp, yepp. I totally understand. I'm the kind of guy who'd rather spend 100 bucks on games.
     
  18. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my HD4850 and this problem with HD cards seems to be LOD rendering related. Thanks for people who tested it and gave feedback!

    Cheers, Jarkko
     
  19. JarkkoL

    JarkkoL New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    I updated the Bully shroom test if someone likes to try it out. It should now work on ATI cards as well.

    Cheers, Jarkko
     
  20. TheMysteriousStranger

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Works fine on my HD4850 now, all shrooms present and accounted for.
     

Share This Page

  • About Indie Gamer

    When the original Dexterity Forums closed in 2004, Indie Gamer was born and a diverse community has grown out of a passion for creating great games. Here you will find over 10 years of in-depth discussion on game design, the business of game development, and marketing/sales. Indie Gamer also provides a friendly place to meet up with other Developers, Artists, Composers and Writers.
  • Buy us a beer!

    Indie Gamer is delicately held together by a single poor bastard who thankfully gets help from various community volunteers. If you frequent this site or have found value in something you've learned here, help keep the site running by donating a few dollars (for beer of course)!

    Sure, I'll Buy You a Beer