BMTMicro and Comcast

Discussion in 'Indie Business' started by elias4444, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. elias4444

    elias4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... I really like BMTMicro, and I really want to use them for my primary service. It's just driving me crazy that I can't access half of their sites through my Comcast home internet connection. Luckily, I can access their vendors.bmtmicro.net site (which is the big one for account management and things), but I can't access www.bmtmicro.com in order to get to the developer help section and whatnot.

    I've checked DNS, and I'm getting the same IP address returned from Comcast as I do from other ISPs that work just fine. I've done a traceroute from both ISPs, and both make it up through the final singlehop.net device. My Comcast then just bombs out on getting a return from www.bmtmicro.com.

    Does anyone else have this issue? I'm guessing there are other Comcast customers out there that could test this for me. I'm wondering if it's a system wide thing with Comcast, or just my area.

    All help is appreciated! Thanks!
     
  2. rioka

    rioka New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Their website works for me. I noticed, looking at the address bar that all of their pages are on a secure server except the home page. Normally, there shouldn't be a problem viewing the pages unless the certificate wasn't accepted, blocked or some other reason.
     
  3. Jason Chong

    Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2004
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you can contact comcast's tech to reroute ?

    Either that or go with another internet provider who has better routing.
     
  4. Jim Buck

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have Comcast (in Massachusetts), and I can access that site just fine.
     
  5. zoombapup

    Moderator Original Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried using other browsers?
     
  6. elias4444

    elias4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I've tried other browsers, other routers, other DNS services, other computers, and so on. It just seems to be the Comcast service here. I wasn't sure if it was Comcast-wide or just this area. Sounds like I need to call Comcast and sit and wait on hold until they answer. Unfortunately, there aren't many other options for broadband where I'm at. I can get snail-paced DSL (1 mbit down and around 128kbit up), but with all the uploading and internet work I do, I need something with a fatter pipe.
     
  7. RinkuHero

    RinkuHero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same problem, I can't access that site at all. I'm not on Comcast though, I'm on Cablevision / Optimum Online. I asked BMT about it on these forums and they said as far as they know it's working, so I've no idea why it never works for me. I've also tried all browsers.
     
  8. Thomas@BMT

    Thomas@BMT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everything on this side appears to be A-OK. I will check into it from this end and see if anything turns up.

    I do know we haven't received any other messages about connectivity issues - if a site is down, even for a few minutes, we get floods of emails about it.

    Thanks,
    Thomas
     
  9. elias4444

    elias4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, this has been an ongoing issue for me. I'm not thinking it's BMT's fault though (since I can access the sites from other ISPs normally). I'm currently looking into dumping Comcast and going with AT&T 6.0mbps DSL. I'm mostly worried about the loss of bandwidth (I transfer files quite regularly while developing). Although it sounds like DSL sustained rates are higher than Comcast sustained rates... guess I'm going to find out. :p
     
  10. RinkuHero

    RinkuHero New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    1
    One thing I noticed which is weird is that the Google cache of the site will not appear either. It also hangs forever, just like the site. So perhaps it's something on the site itself that is incompatible with something on our computers?
     
  11. princec

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,873
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm I shouldn't wonder that Comcast is proxying HTTP traffic and processing it before it reaches you...

    Cas :)
     
  12. Cartman

    Indie Author

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue on my Comcast in Seattle. I don't know why www.bmtmicro.com doesn't work for me. But as described above the vendor.bmtmicro.com works fine. I don't have this problem at work.
     
  13. arcadetown

    Moderator Original Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. elias4444

    elias4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh yes, it loads. Never had a problem with the sales pages loading.

    For an update, I went ahead and ordered AT&T DSL. Once it's installed I'll be dropping Comcast. Not only will that hopefully fix my problem, but it'll save me quite a bit of money each month. :)
     
  15. Thomas@BMT

    Thomas@BMT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify:

    The secure server that handles customer orders (secure.bmtmicro.com) and the control panel (vendors.bmtmicro.net) are on a different network than www.bmtmicro.com and help.bmtmicro.net (help.bmtmicro.net contains the help files for the control panel). Our secure servers are also located in a different geographic area and have multiple connections to the backbone.

    Even the comcasts guys that cannot access www.bmtmicro.com have no problems reaching either of our secure servers.
     
    #15 Thomas@BMT, Nov 12, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2008
  16. Thomas@BMT

    Thomas@BMT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you access www.mgosports.com or www.vgaplanets.com?

    Thanks,
    Thomas
     
  17. elias4444

    elias4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
  18. Thomas@BMT

    Thomas@BMT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok... do you have a static IP with comcast?

    Thanks,
    Thomas
     
  19. Frozen In Ice

    Original Member Indie Author

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    1
    Comcast had problems a while back with DNS resolving, according to the Internet Storm Center (I can't remember exactly when though). I have no problems reaching any BMT Micro destination from Canada (using Rogers). You might want to give OpenDNS a try and use other nameservers to resolve http addresses instead of Comcast's servers. Just a thought :)
     
  20. elias4444

    elias4444 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I don't have a static IP address, and yes, I tried openDNS. :)
     

Share This Page

  • About Indie Gamer

    When the original Dexterity Forums closed in 2004, Indie Gamer was born and a diverse community has grown out of a passion for creating great games. Here you will find over 10 years of in-depth discussion on game design, the business of game development, and marketing/sales. Indie Gamer also provides a friendly place to meet up with other Developers, Artists, Composers and Writers.
  • Buy us a beer!

    Indie Gamer is delicately held together by a single poor bastard who thankfully gets help from various community volunteers. If you frequent this site or have found value in something you've learned here, help keep the site running by donating a few dollars (for beer of course)!

    Sure, I'll Buy You a Beer