BMT insight

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by Teebird, Nov 7, 2008.

1. Teebird

Teebird New Member

In about 2 weeks, I'm going to place a couple of games out on BMT to sell. I've never done this before, nor have I ever bought any games from BMT or any other service. BMT help or FAQ can't possibly answer all my questions, so may I ask a few of them here.

1. After uploading my game to BMT, can I refresh the file at any time as I upgrade and fix bugs?

2. If a customer asks for a CD backup, does BMT burn and mail it, or do I?

3. At what point in the process does a customer see a registration key?

4. How will a customer know that they have a registration key?

5. What is the recommended time period to leave a download active for a customer?

6. Should I setup the cart and buying process on my own site, or give one link to BMT?

7. Is there a test-mode on BMT so I can run through the whole process my customers will see?

Please answer all you can, BMT gurus.

Thanks!

2. JGOware

Indie Author

"1. After uploading my game to BMT, can I refresh the file at any time as I upgrade and fix bugs?"

Yes.

Best thing to do is just put a test program up there, run a purchase by yourself and see how everything goes.

3. rioka

rioka New Member

I get three emails practically simultaneously. One is an email saying that the order has been received, second is a receipt, and the last is an email with the registration key with instructions and so on.

See above. They see all those emails and they know that have to put in a registration key to unlock the full game. That and you can't play the demo further unless you plug in a key. :|

4. Jason Chong

Original Member

How are you sending the registration keys? I am using php scripts and followed their example but I needed to modify it since the example uses a method that requires my hosting to modify their php settings, but i found an alternative way to read raw http post data without modifying php settings.

5. DFG

DFG