[BlitzMax] Help with image-drawing

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by orias, Nov 27, 2008.

1. orias

orias New Member

Hello everyone,

I just started programming again after many many years, and don't have the energy to pick up C++ again, or start with C# or something, so I jumped right into BlitzMax, downloaded the demo, and begun trying it out. At the moment, I am writing a text-based game, just to get the hang of programming again (kinda sorta had to start from the beginning again, although I'm not a total newbie, because I programmed ALOT some years back). But I have run into a small (huge) problem. I can't seem to get any images to be drawn correctly, for some reason. Every time I try to draw an image, it becomes VERY dark. What have I missed? I know I am doing SOMETHING wrong, because it is possible to do this in the demo (I am using the images to make a sort of mini-map, so that it's easier to find your way around, in my awesome little text-based world), and I know that since I've tried running some of the sample programs, and they work just fine, using images.

This is what I have so far. I have "Graphics 800,600" in the start, as well as "SetBlend ALPHABLEND". Then I have a function that loads the images (so far it's only three images), using "imagevar = LoadImage("imageblabla.png",MASKEDIMAGE)", using 255,0,255 as the masked color (kind of a magenta-ish color I guess), using "SetMaskColor 255,0,255", which I put before the LoadImage's. And yes, all my image variables are set with the TImage type, in a header file, and I use strict in the beginning of the program, so that I have to define every variable before using it (and the game compiles just fine... only problem is that it screws up the drawing of the images). I draw the images with "DrawImage imagevar,x,y" (where x and y are the coordinates, and not two variables named x and y).

Anyone has any ideas as to why this happens? I really don't get it. This is what it looks like: