Anyone using XNA Game Studio Express?

Discussion in 'Game Development (Technical)' started by mpolzin, Dec 7, 2006.

1. mpolzin

mpolzin New Member

I was curious if anyone else has been working with Mircosoft's XNA Game Studio Express?

I started playing with beta 2 just before Thanksgiving, and have been pretty impressed with it. I've been developing a nice 2D game engine in it for the past couple of weeks, and plan to start on a 3D engine once I complete that.

It is proven to be very powerful, and makes game development quite a bit easier, and its free, which is definitely the right price. It sits on top of the C# Express Edition (also free) for development, but others have been able to successfully use it within Visual Studio with C++ as well. I was a bit concerned about performance developing in C#, but so far I haven't run into a single performance issue.

The bonus is that it allows you to roll out your game to the PC and XBox 360 through XBox Live and joining their creators club ($99/yr). Although it is pretty limited access to the XBox 360, they are looking at other options for distributing games where the developers could also have a revenue stream from this... something on the order of YouTube for XNA based games. It is still all coming together, but the multi-platform support is a nice feature.

The offical release 1 is due out this coming Monday, Dec. 11th.

Mike

#1 mpolzin, Dec 7, 2006
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2006
  2. ZeHa

Original Member

Although it is pretty limited access to the XBox 360[...]

Could you explain that sentence a little further, please? I don't understand its meaning :)

3. mpolzin

mpolzin New Member