Anyone Play Pen & Paper RPGs?

Discussion in 'Indie Related Chat' started by robobrain, Nov 3, 2011.

1. robobrain

robobrain New Member

Thoughts? Any games running?

I've been running a Deathwatch campaign for about 3 months now after not playing any for about 15 years. I have to say it's still fun and brings a lot of new ideas to the table.

Has anyone else had a similar experience?

2. Ikkyu

Ikkyu New Member

It's been a long while since I've played, but it is one of the pending things that I have for this year. My experience is that playing whatever you can get your hands on (board games, card games, anything) is crucial to get an open mind when it comes to new mechanics and new ideas. And a lot of the industry does that, I remember a presentation in the GDC China some years ago where this was discussed and it is VERY prevalent. In my current company, playing is also very encouraged, though board and card games are usually preferred.

3. robobrain

robobrain New Member

There are some really nice board games out these days. I've been playing Carcassonne a lot. I know it's not that new anymore though. Do you have any to recommend?

4. terin

Original Member

Me and the gang play every friday... going on over 6 years now... mostly board games, sometimes P&P RPGs.

Our most played eurogame is Agricola, no doubt about it.

I personally would also recommend Wealth of Nations, Mission Red Planet, Through the Ages... I could go on... but those 4 games would likely last you many months of replay and are among the best games out of the 50 or so we've played in 6 years.

5. papillon

Indie Author

Irregularly play tabletop and freeforms (with the first, trouble with timing keeping a consistent group together, with the second, space and time requirements are such that it's largely once or twice a year). A little bit of board and card gaming as well, although I'm the type that tends to dislike highly competitive games in person so I often end up spectating.