2D game engine with scripting/programming?

Discussion in 'Indie Basics' started by John Cutter, Jan 26, 2012.

1. John Cutter

John Cutter New Member

I'm a pretty good game designer, but a LOUSY coder. (Fortunately, I get to work with professional programmers who are a lot smarter than me.) Still, it's helpful for me to prototype games, ideas, and mechanics and I'd like to find one that is script-based, and not "click"-based.

In other words, I want to write high level code, like BlitzBasic, only I want the convenience of built-in editors and GUI, like those offered in Construct or Multimedia Fusion. Does anything like that exist?

It seems that GameMaker might be my best bet, but from what I've seen so far I will wind up with tons of separate little script files that are kind of a pain to access. And I've been told that there is no "Search and Replace" that works for all scripts.

2. Bmc

Bmc New Member

best bet at this time would be Unity

It's a little tricky to get started with 2D but plenty of people are using it so it's definitely possible.

3. John Cutter

John Cutter New Member

I just looked at Unity and it appears that the 2D is really just constrained 3D. Am I missing something? I appreciate the suggestion but that tool may be a bit above my competence level. ;-)

Flash might work, though I'm not keen on all the vector stuff... and it's so damned expensive.

4. Desktop Gaming

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

Code-wise I don't think it gets much easier than Blitzmax (which I use). Fair enough there's no point/click whatsoever but I don't believe there's another language that's easier to use (though, I would say that because I use it for all my games), plus as it's been around a few years now there are plenty of resources to look at. I've heard mention of big(ish) companies - whose names currently escape me - using Blitz products to prototype new ideas so I wouldn't rule it out.

5. Nukular

Nukular New Member