1st shadow test

Discussion in 'Feedback Requests' started by lennard, Sep 23, 2010.

1. lennard

Moderator Original Member Indie Author

I have been adding edge shadow options on a layer by layer basis to Dungeon Demon this week (as inspired by comments in this thread: http://forums.indiegamer.com/showthread.php?t=22369).

Here are some first results, I'll be posting some continent maps as soon as I get a little more code working. I have given the designer control over interior and (soon) exterior edge shadows/glow effects. Here's a sample dungeon built with a floor layer and then a wall layer on top that has some alpha channel to create a drop shadow effect. Here is a before screenshot:

[​IMG]

and after a slightly green tinted shadow (I'm a programmer, color choice may not be optimal) has been been added with the new edge effects option to the floor layer:

[​IMG]

Any constructive feedback would be appreciated as I'm in the thick of the code right now. Thanks.

2. Jasmine

Jasmine New Member

I like the effect, and it certainly creates contrast with the walls. But I would say it is too dark right at the edge of the floor. Perhaps the dark trim + shadow is too much together. Would it be easy to use the shadow without the dark trim or is that part of the tile texture?

Also, with the shadow, the floor texture may be better lower contrast in itself. At the moment it looks like the broken stone texture is competing with the block walls.

3. electronicStar

Original Member

I don't like it, it doesn't add anything to the scene and it doesn't look like shadow at all, shadow should always come from a light source, your "ambient occlusion" solution doesn't work IMHO.
    could be useful though for some very special cases, for example for giving a sense of depth in a well ....

#3 electronicStar, Sep 23, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2010
  4. Applewood

And in the other corner, I like it a lot. A whole lot.